Toronto District School Board
Skip to main content

Elementary Virtual School Update

Sunday, September 27, 2020
Categories: Happenings @ TDSB

Elementary Virtual School Parent/Guardian,

This is an update to parents/guardians and families in the TDSB Elementary Virtual School to provide information for families/students who are already assigned a teacher and connected to a Brightspace classroom, and also for families/students not yet connected.

Parents/Students Currently Without a Teacher Assignment
Work has continued through the weekend to hire teachers — an issue being faced by a number of school boards in the area — and have classrooms up and running by mid-to-late next week. Currently, we are looking to hire approximately 150 teachers between English and French Immersion/Extended French programs. We are making progress and anticipate that all positions will be filled over the next few days. All teachers are provided with two days of Brightspace training and will have their virtual classrooms up and running mid-to-late next week.

Please continue to access the independent learning resources web page where more resources, activities and live teacher-led videos have been added for the second week.

IT Support
As a reminder, if you are experiencing account and/or password issues, please access support by completing this form. Once the information has been verified, login and password information for your child will be emailed to you. Additionally, you can access Brightspace support 24 hours a day.

Principal Contact Information
We understand that you may have questions or concerns and would like to speak directly with someone at your child’s Virtual Elementary School. Please find Principal contact information by Learning Centre and grade below (to determine your Learning Centre, please search for your child's home school here: Learning Centre School List).

Virtual School

Principal Contact Information

Learning Centre 1

Grades K to 2: Tamara Schwarz - tamara.schwarz@tdsb.on.ca
Grades 3 to 5: Amelia Dennis - amelia.dennis@tdsb.on.ca
Grade 6 to 8: Juliet Sesanker-Daniel - juliet.sesanker-daniel@tdsb.on.ca

Learning Centre 2

Grades K to 2: Fiona Bennett - fiona.bennett@tdsb.on.ca
Grades 3 to 5: Dayna Neiman - dayna.neiman@tdsb.on.ca
Grades 6 to 8: Hugh Reynolds - hugh.reynolds@tdsb.on.ca

Learning Centre 3

Grades K to 1: Zorina Alli - Zorina.Alli@tdsb.on.ca
Grades 2 to 4: Phyllis Jackson - Phyllis.Jackson@tdsb.on.ca
Grades 5 to 8: Laura Slater - Laura.Slater@tdsb.on.ca

Learning Centre 4

Grades K to 3: Susan Yun - susan.yun@tdsb.on.ca
Grades 4 to 8: Mary Salvarinas - Mary.Salvarinas@tdsb.on.ca

Virtual School Teacher Absences
Please be aware that, at this time, it may not be possible to provide a replacement teacher to cover classes when the classroom teacher is absent. Students are encouraged to complete work that has been assigned by the classroom teacher or are encouraged to access the available resources and videos on the Asynchronous Learning Activities web page.


Deadline to Switch Between Elementary Virtual School and In-Person Learning
As a reminder, 4 p.m. on September 30 is the deadline for elementary students to request a switch between the Virtual School and in-person (in-school) learning. Families who would like to request a switch from the Virtual School to in-person learning must complete the Virtual School Opt-Out online form before the deadline. Learn more about switching between the Virtual School and in-person learning, including upcoming key dates. Please note: For families who do not yet have a teacher assigned or have not yet connected with a teacher in Virtual School, please be assured that the TDSB will proceed with assigning your child a teacher and class as soon as possible, as noted above.

Thank you.

Tags:
© 2014 Toronto District School Board  |  Terms of Use  |  Privacy   |  CASL