Toronto District School Board
Skip to main content

Settlement Workers

Settlement Workers in Schools (SWIS), also known as SEPT, offers settlement services to newly arrived families and secondary school students in schools’ satellite and reception centres. Settlement Workers deliver individual/family services or group programs that help participants to understand and to successfully transition into the education system and to accelerate the settlement process. SEPT also delivers two programs in the summer for newly arrived students and families, some of whom are enrolled in TDSB summer school courses. These programs include:

  • Newcomer Orientation Week (NOW) program for secondary students
  • Welcome Information for Newcomer (WIN) program for middle schools students and families.

Newcomer Family/Parent/Student Referral to SWIS

Local schools will forward and collect informed consent from the parent/guardian of the student or from the student who is 16 years of age or older and relay this consent form to the appropriate settlement agency. Consent forms will be available at the time of registration and will be made available to families and students as needed.

Connecting with a Settlement Worker
 

Organization
Program Manager
Program Manager Email
Program Manager Phone
Catholic Crosscultural Services
Zohra Gillani
zgillani@ccscan.ca
647-296-5742
Catholic Crosscultural Services
Manimolie Kanagasabapathy
mkanagasabapathy@ccscan.ca
647-296-0232
Centre for Immigrant and Community Services (CICS)
Sandy Chiang
sandy.chiang@cicscanada.com
647-999-7640
Centre for Immigrant and Community Services (CICS)
Mabel Chow
mabel.chow@cicscanada.com
416-940-3354
Culturelink
Lisa Randall
lrandall@culturelink.ca
416-649-5722
North York Community House
Rabia Din
RDin@nych.ca
416-809-5543
North York Community House
Noemi Garcia
NGarcia@nych.ca
416-357-0354
TNO - The Neighbourhood Organization
Malini Singh
msingh@tno-toronto.org
647-296-0210
 
© 2014 Toronto District School Board  |  Terms of Use  |  Privacy   |  CASL